Monday, January 14, 2008

Short Book Reviews

Starship: Mercenary by Mike Resnick - The cunning Captain Wilson Cole and the cast of the Starship Teddy R. are back in the third novel in this vastly entertaining series. Easily accessible to non-science fiction readers, its larger-than-life, witty and mythic-sized characters propel the book through snappy dialog and clever plotting. I loved this book and it surely will win a spot on my 2008's best list. (C'mon Hugo award givers, isn't it about time Renick won a best novel award?) Fans of Joss Whedon's Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly really should be reading this. Highly Recommened!

5 comments:

Kevin Standlee said...

C'mon Hugo award givers, isn't it about time Resnick won a best novel award?

Well, who do you think gives the Hugo Award? Some sort of cabal of the Secret Masters of Fandom? You know how the Hugo Awards work, right? The members of the Worldcon nominate and vote for the awards. You want to be part of the group of Hugo Award "givers," just join the current Worldcon before the end of January and you can nominate whatever you want, and if enough other people agree with you, the work gets nominated for the final ballot.

It's not as though the Hugo Awards are a secret or anything like that, not with their own web site that explains how they work and not with membership open to anyone willing to buy at least a supporting membership in the current Worldcon.

Carl V. said...

I am glad to hear positive things about this series. I was wondering. I have read a few Resnick short stories and have a collection of them to get to soon. I'll put these on my list.

David said...

Kevin - I'm a disabled fella, so shelling out $50 for an opportunity to vote isn't really an option for me. I'd rather spend my pinched pennies on books than paying for a poll tax. I'll stick to voting in the free Locas poll and the SF Site poll. I'd just like to suggest to those dues paying members of Worldcon to give Resnick a fair shake in the novel category.

Carl, I've read 5 or 6 Resnick books in the last year or so, and I'd suggest you start with the Starship series. :)

Jeff S. said...

David, Thanks for the review. I've noticed Mr. Resnick's name for many years now and have heard many good things about him. I really need to pick up one of his books this year. Thanks for the recommendation to start with the Starship series. I will keep an out for it the next time Carl and I go used bookstore shopping.

As for the Hugo awards. I'm with you. I don't have $ 50 to drop on a " vote " either.

David said...

w00t! Used bookstore shopping! Always nice to find a second hand gem :)